Originally the erstwhile Judgeship of Kokrajhar District was under the District of Goalpara with Head-Quarter of Dhubri which was under the than District and Sessions Judge of Lower Assam District (L-A-D) with Head quarter at Guwahati. The Court of Kokrajhar was opened on 1951 as EAC and Magistrate Court . After few years the Munsiff Court was opened on 16-10-1954. In the year , 1983 the Kokrajhar District was Separated from the District of Goalpara . The C.J.M Court was functioning from the year 1983. The Court of District & Sessions Judge was opened on 24-05-1986. The Civil Judge & Asstt. Sessions Judge and Addl. C.J.M Court was opened in the year, 1999. The Addl. District & Sessions Judge (F.T.C) was functioning from the year 2001. There are Seven Judicial Courts in Kokrajhar District and are functioning very smoothly.

District and Sessions Judge is the head of the district judiciary, who also acts as Judge In-charge of District and Sessions Judge court complex, Kokrajhar.

Under the Kokrajhar District Judiciary various functioning courts with the court complexes are given below.

Name of the Court No. of Court Nature of Court Name of Present Judges
(A) District & Sessions Judge Court Complex
District & Sessions Judge Court 1 Civil/Criminal Smti Nirmali Talukdar
Addl. District & Sessions Judge Court (F.T.C) 1 Civil/Criminal Shri Joydev Koch
Civil Judge (Sr. Div.) & Asstt. Sessions Judge Court 1 Civil/Criminal Shri Rupak Rajak
Civil Judge (Jr. Div.) cum JMFC 1 Civil/Criminal Smti Bhawana Kakati
(B) Chief Judicial Magistrate Court Complex
Chief Judicial Magistrate (CJM) Court 1 Criminal Shri Nabajit Bhatta
Addl. Chief Judicial Magistrate (Addl. CJM) Court 1 Criminal Smti. Munmee Neog
Sub-Divisional Judicial Magistrate (SDJM (S)) Court 1 Criminal Smti Jinti Panging
(C) Sub-Divisional Judicial Magistrate(M) Complex
Sub-divisional Judicial Magistrate(M) Court 1 Criminal Smti Shatabdi Bhuyan
Civil Judge (Jr. Div.)-cum-JMFC Court 1 Civil/Criminal Smti Dristisikha Baruah